Te Oranganui Trust Inc. was formed in 1993 after the need for a health organisation “for Māori by Māori” was identified. The Tauihu was constituted in 1993 with the original make up of members consisting of one member from each of the following tribal groups, hapū or body:

  • Ngā Rauru Kītahi

  • Ngā Wairiki – Ngāti Apa

  • Tamaupoko

  • Hinengākau

  • Tupoho

  • Ōtaihape

  • Whanganui River Māori Trust Board

  • Whanganui Regional Development Board Trust

  • Two Tauihu appointed co-opted members

​The timeline below gives a brief overview of significant milestones in the history of Te Oranganui Trust Inc..